Posted in Exercise, Little Successes, Motivation, New Lifestyle, Perserverance, The Journey, Weight Loss Goals

My Week 8/9-8/15

In my last post I said I wanted to write weekly updates to keep myself accountable and make sure I’m staying on task.  My goals were to do 30-40 minutes of cardio at the gym 3x a week, strength training at home 2x a week, and drink 40-64 oz of water per day.

I didn’t follow through on all these goals last week because dun dun dun I got my period and if you’ve read my previous posts, you know that most healthy habits kinda go out the window when my period comes.  I didn’t do so bad though.

Last week Exercise

  • Monday– walking for almost 2 hours at various paces burning a total of 649 calories
  • Tuesday– a slow walk for 30 minutes and 20 minutes of zumba at home (which is a good alternative to going to the gym) burned a total of 505 calories.
  • Wednesday– medium pace walk for 1 hour and 50 minutes, burned 665 calories.
  • Thursday– (period starts)- no exercise
  • Friday– slow pace walk for 1 hour 20 minutes, burned 403 calories.
  • Saturday– no exercise
  • Sunday– medium pace walk for 1 hour 55 minutes and 20 minutes of zumba, burned total 1,049 calories 🙂
  • Monday– 40 minute slow pace walk, 15 minutes strength training video of YouTube, 15 minutes aerobic fat burning video on YouTube, burned 624 calories

*note all calories burned information is according to my fitness pal, which is basically like my guide on this journey!

Yesterday was a big deal because I came home really late and was tired.  I was so tempted not to workout, but I told myself I can’t give in to my excuses.  I had planned on doing a 15 minute beginner strength training workout but decided to push even further and do more.  So that was a great accomplishment for me!  As for my water intake I’ve been doing way better.  It’s so horribly hot in NY right now that I get very thirst very often and find myself drinking water over anything else 8 times out of 10, although I haven’t been keeping track of how much water I’m drinking.

Next week same goals.  I really wanna win my diet bet this month.  Unfortunately by doing my hair and putting my braids back in I’ve set myself back 4 lbs.  I expected that there would be an increase on the scale after putting my braids in so I weighed myself before and after.  Before I was 266.6 and after I went up to 269.8 so yea these braids are pretty heavy on my head.  I’m slightly regretting doing it because it is cuter but it’s heavier and making me hotter.  Anyways now in order to win my diet I have to lose 8-9 lbs instead of 5 lbs.  I like that I was able to give myself this challenge but I don’t wanna regret it so I have to win.  Planning to weigh myself on Thursday so we’ll see!

imag1083.jpg
After I got my braids done!
imag1078.jpg
Last Tuesday post zumba workout
imag1110.jpg
Last night post workout!