Posted in Motivation, Perserverance, The Journey, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Goals, Weight Loss Struggles

A Miraculous Win

Well as you can see from the title of this entry.. I won my diet bet.  Yaaayy *does a little dance*  So excited about it! It was a close call.  I resorted back to a low/medium carb diet for the last week to help get those last few pounds off.  Okay few is a lie.  I actually had about 5-6 lbs to shed in 7 days. I was pretty good at sticking to a fairly low carb diet and making sure I did zumba. And while I saw some results in the first few days.  It wasn’t enough to make me think I would actually win.  By Thursday morning I was still 3 lbs away from my goal with only 2 days to left.  At that point I was so close to giving up but I decided to see it through even if I lost.

What actually pushed my weight loss over the top was a new opportunity I found to make a little extra cash as a foot messenger/delivery person for Uber.  My friend told me about the opportunity awhile ago but hadn’t been able to make it to the training until last Thursday. I thought it would be a great way to make a little extra cash while also burning calories.  I had no idea what I was in for.  I started the job on Tuesday (because I can set my own hours) and I definitely burned much more than a few calories.  It’s super tiring work and the pay isn’t really the best, but I focused on the part where I was getting a great workout and getting paid for it.  On average I’d do about 3 deliveries a night, which doesn’t sound like much but sometimes you have to wait awhile to get a job and sometimes you just have to take a break and charge your phone.  A lot of times I’d be walking a mile or more at my fastest pace for each delivery and then sometimes even having to go up 4-6 flights of stairs to get to the person’s apartment.  The stairs were the worst lol!  Yes it was super tiring, which is why I only end up doing 2-4 in a night.  Not to mention the down time, walking around at more leisurely pace in between deliveries.  My body was on the move for hours per night.

Even though I started the messenger job on Tuesday night, the scale didn’t budge until Thursday afternoon.  Thursday morning I woke up and weighed myself, I was at 264.4 lbs just like the day before.  It was quite discouraging.  I went back to sleep, knowing that weight loss really takes place while you sleep.  So I was hoping a little extra sleep would help.  By the time I woke up I had only dropped .2 lbs and was still very discouraged.  I started getting myself ready to go and a little while before I was ready to leave I used the bathroom.  Afterwards I decided to get undressed just to weigh myself.  I finally saw a 1.2 lb drop.  That was the moment I thought okay I can do this. I’m going to win.  Low and behold when I came home I saw another .6 lb drop and in the morning I was at my goal weight of 261.4 lbs. I had been working hard and I guess it just takes a day or two for your body and the scale to catch up.  I was able to send the results in to diet bet a day early.  By the time I actually took the picture of the scale for diet bet, I weighed in at 260.8.  I’m so happy I was able to win this round.  I lost the 2nd and 3rd rounds (June and July) and it would’ve been so upsetting to lose yet another round.  I’m so grateful to Uber.  This opportunity came at the absolute most perfect time and I couldn’t be happier to continue to make money and shed pounds.

Author:

I am a young Haitian American woman trying to find my way in this world. I'm a good friend, an aspiring writer, a Scorpio by nature, a New Yorker, a chocolate and wine lover. Simply put I'm awesome :) "To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting." ~e.e. cummings, 1955

Leave a comment